will the beast

20130328-180846.jpg
This is my boyfriend, Will. His Tough Mudder team from last year gave him the nickname “Will D Beast” as a mash up of his first name, middle initial and the fact that he’s such a beast when it comes to fitness. He really is though. I’ve witnessed his transformation in the last year+ and it amazes me. It inspires me! It motivates me!

He wasn’t really one who was that out of shape or unhealthy. In fact when we first started dating 3.5+ years ago, I could say he was pretty fit. But of course as we got into dating, we loved going out to eat and splurging when it came to food. We didn’t work out as much as we should have so I think around the same time I realized I needed to make a lifestyle change, he did too.

Like me, he started to eat healthier, increase working out and it was all due to discipline and perseverance. (And I’m telling you, when it comes to those two things, he’s the Master!) He really has helped me this last year and a half in my journey in losing weight and trying to be fit. It comes naturally for him now whereas for me, I sometimes slip and he totally calls me on it. It’s not easy to hear sometimes and I know he does it out of his good and loving heart so I take it well…(mostly 🙂 ).

He’s probably going to kill me for posting those pics of him but oh well! Sometimes I’ll be at work working away when I get a picture he sends me of himself to my phone and it brings a smile to my face cus well obviously they are quite flattering and it’s so cute that he shares his proud moments of progress with me.

I’m so very proud of him. Last year Tough Mudder was a huge motivator for him and even though he hasn’t signed up this year yet, he’s working hard to keep his fitness level up. It’s quite beneficial to have someone at your side who is on the same page as you on wanting to be healthy and fit! And let me tell you, this man can cook!!! I know I can cook but I honestly prefer when he does it because he has some kind of magic touch. For example last night for out post-workout dinner, he made me pan-fried salmon seasoned with a little garlic salt and Furikake. It was deeeelicious! See for yourself 🙂 20130328-182510.jpg
And of course, there are many, many other reasons why I’m lucky to have Will as my boyfriend! But I’m very thankful for his motivation and encouragement that has helped me get to where I am today.

3 thoughts on “will the beast

  1. Dear Abby, Your fitness/weightloss journey is incredible! I too am on one I started an instagram account but I am a little late to the game. Hopefully I can get to where I need to be! Anyway, I work with a mud run that empowers women, and you have been a great example – showing women that hard work pays off. We are wondering if you would be interested in running in our women’s only mud run? Your boyfriend can join too, but on one condition: He has to dress up like a girl! 🙂 It’s a great way to get prepared for Tough Mudder since it’s just a 5k but with somewhat similar obstacles. What do you think? http://bit.ly/15i3rVj

    Maddie Ford

Leave a comment